Contact Faculty & Staff

School of Nursing
Faculty of Health and Social Development 

ART360 (ARTS Building)
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7

Role:
School/Institute:
Search Keyword:

Lauren Airth | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | lauren.airth@ubc.ca
Sheldon Ambler | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | sheldon.ambler@ubc.ca
April Ambler | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | april.ambler@ubc.ca
Christine Balfour | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | Christine.Balfour@ubc.ca | 12503062510 | ART 148
Research Interests: Strong interest in community health, adolescent sexual health, teaching and learning
Courses & Teaching: Team Lead for UBC SON Year 2: Community & Mental Health Nursing Nursing 111 - Foundation of Health Nursing 228 - Community Health Nursing 238 - Community Health in Practice Nursing 428 - Advanced Community Health
Jessica Barker | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | jessica.barker@ubc.ca
Julianne Barry | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | School of Nursing | julianne.barry@ubc.ca | 250.807.8742 | RHS 117
Janice Bell | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | jmbell@ucalgary.ca
Joan L. Bottorff | Professor | School of Nursing | joan.bottorff@ubc.ca | 250.807.8627 | Arts 223A

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Health promotion, health behaviour change, gender influences, cancer prevention, smoking cessation, men's health, family health, knowledge translation
Courses & Teaching: Qualitative research, research methods, nursing theory
Sandra Broughton | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | sbroughton@bccancer.bc.ca
Susan Brown | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | susan.brownVP@interiorhealth.ca
Sarah Ann Camacho | Sessional Lecturer | School of Nursing | Sarah.Camacho@ubc.ca
Rishma Chooniedass | Lecturer | School of Nursing | rishma@mail.ubc.ca | 250-807-9038 | Arts 161
Research Interests: Maternal and child health; paediatrics; food allergy and anaphylaxis
Courses & Teaching: NRSG 120 Introduction to Nursing Research NRSG 122 Introduction to the Profession of Nursing II NRSG 126 Health and Healing I NRSG 136 Nursing Practice I NRSG 338 Nursing Practice with Childbearing Families NRSG 339 Nursing Practice in Child Health
Jasmine Clark | Nursing Practice Placement Coordinator | School of Nursing | jasmine.clark@ubc.ca | 250.807.9976 | ART341
Jeannine Costigan | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | jeannine.costigan@ubc.ca
Corinne Crocket | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | corinne.crockett@ubc.ca
Leah Dawe | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | leah.dawe@ubc.ca | 250-807-9248 | CCS 251
Nicole De Bosch Kemper | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | nicole.deboschkemper@ubc.ca
Jacqueline Denison | Associate Professor of Teaching | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | jacqueline.denison@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Global Health and Health Equity; Nursing Education
Courses & Teaching: Recently taught courses: Nursing 112: Professional Practice I Nursing 126: Health and Healing I Nursing 432: Capstone Community Project
Kathryn Douglas-Campbell | Graduate Program Assistant | School of Nursing | katdoug@mail.ubc.ca
Linda Drew | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | linda.drew@ubc.ca | CCS252
Colleen duManoir | Simulation Lab Coordinator | School of Nursing | cduman01@mail.ubc.ca | CCS 251A
Michelle Earl | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | michelle.earl@ubc.ca
Sheila Epp | Assistant Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | sheila.epp@ubc.ca | 250-807-9975 | Art 339

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Curriculum Development; Pedagogy; New Graduate Transition
Courses & Teaching: She has taught in multiple areas across the undergraduate program. Most recently her teaching has included: NRSG 422 Leadership NRSG 431 Capstone Acute Care Preceptorship NRSG 434 Practice Electives NRSG 439 Global Health Practicum
Marion Fauth | Administrative Assistant | School of Nursing | marion.fauth@ubc.ca | 250-807-8180 | CCS Building | Room 253
Helen Hamel | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | helen.hamel@ubc.ca
Morgan Hatch | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | morgan.hatch@ubc.ca
Norma Hilsmann | Lecturer | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | norma.hilsmann@ubc.ca | 250.807.9961 | Arts 147
Research Interests: Pharmacology in Nursing Methods of Student Evaluations of Teaching in Nursing
Courses & Teaching: N211, N221 - Health and Healing I & II (old curriculum) N210, N220 - Pharmacology I & II N236, N237, N336, N337 - 2nd and 3rd year Medical and Surgical Clinicals N431/434 - Preceptorship N432 - Group Leadership Capstone Project Seminar N421- Acute Care NCLEX preparation
Dennis Jasper | Lecturer | School of Nursing | dennis.jasper@ubc.ca
Courses & Teaching: NRSG 229 Mental Health in Nursing NRSG 239 Mental Health Clinical Practice NSRG 313 Relational Practice V NRSG 427 Advanced Mental Health (elective)
Allison Kelley | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | allison.kelley@ubc.ca
Lindsay Kennedy | Associate Professor of Teaching | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | lindsay.a.kennedy@ubc.ca | 250.807.9710 | A132

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: NRSG 423: Advanced Clinical Reasoning for Care of the Complex Client NRSG 126: Health and Healing I Clinical practice Year 2, 3 and 4
Elizabeth Keys | Assistant Professor | School of Nursing | Elizabeth.Keys@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Pediatric sleep; Parent-child interactions; Infant and parental mental health; eHealth and precision health; Community engagement; Community and public health nursing; Mixed methods; Knowledge synthesis; Integrated knowledge translation and implementation science
Muriel Kranabetter | Associate Professor | School of Nursing | muriel.kranabetter@ubc.ca
Donna Kurtz | Associate Professor | School of Nursing | donna.kurtz@ubc.ca | 2508079627 | RHS 120

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Indigenous Health and Wellness Traditional and Western; Decolonizing Strength-based Approaches; Qualitative research; Cultural Safety education and practice
Courses & Teaching: Interdisciplinary Health: HINT 408/508 Cultural Safety in Health: Indigenous Perspectives
Rita Laven | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | rita.laven@ubc.ca
Jessica Lewis | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | jessica.lewis@ubc.ca
Patricia Marck | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | patricia.marck@ubc.ca
Natalie Matthews | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | natalie.matthews@ubc.ca
Laura Mercer | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | laura.mercer@ubc.ca | 250-807-8487 (Office), 250-801-5167 (Cell) | CCS 251
Diana Monk | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | diana.monk@ubc.ca
Lisa Moralejo | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | lisa.moralejo@ubc.ca | 250-807-9956 | ART 134
Research Interests: Nursing education; technology in education; education
Carmen Nadon | School Assistant | School of Nursing | c.nadon@ubc.ca
Nelly Oelke | Associate Professor | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | nelly.oelke@ubc.ca | 250.807.9880 | RHS 118

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Integrated health systems and services delivery; primary health care; mental health; rural health; climate change and climate change events and mental health; integrated knowledge translation and implementation science.
Courses & Teaching: NURS 505 Healthcare Policy NURS 597 Capstone Course NURS 581 Leadership in Knowledge Application and Translation
Lise Olsen | Assistant Professor | School of Nursing | lise.olsen@ubc.ca
Barbara Pesut | Professor | School of Nursing | barb.pesut@ubc.ca | 250-807-9955 | ASC 287

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Palliative and end-of-life care; Medical Assistance in Dying; volunteer and peer navigation models; nursing philosophy
Courses & Teaching: Nursing 580: Philosophy of Nursing Science Nursing 504: Evidence-Based Practice
Katrina Plamondon | Assistant Professor | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | katrina.plamondon@ubc.ca | 778-392-8111 | ART 360

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Connecting knowledge with action for health equity; knowledge translation science; critical pedagogy; methods for relational, responsive research; dialogue-based research; arts-informed research; transformational research
Courses & Teaching: HEAL 307 (Winter 2021) CCGHR Knowledge Translation Summer Course (Summer 2020)
Manuela Reekie | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | manuela.reekie@ubc.ca | 250.807.9441 | ART 342
Melanie Riopelle | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | melanie.riopelle@ubc.ca
Cathy Robinson | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | Cathy.Robinson@ubc.ca | ART177
Courses & Teaching: NRSG 522 NRSG 523 NRSG 329 NRSG 339
Carole Robinson | Professor Emeritus | School of Nursing | carole.robinson@ubc.ca
Kathy Rush | Professor | School of Nursing | kathy.rush@ubc.ca | 250.807.9561 | ART150

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: atrial fibrillation; rural cardiac service delivery; rural health equity, telehealth; aging; new graduate nurse transition
Courses & Teaching: NRSG 542: Introduction to Leadership and Management
Jodi Ryan | Assistant to the Director | School of Nursing | jodi.ryan@ubc.ca | 250.469.4245
Sana Shahram | Assistant Professor | School of Nursing | sana.shahram@ubc.ca
Amielya Christina Lynn Short | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | amielya.keast@ubc.ca
Sarah Stevens | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | sarah.stevens@ubc.ca
Laura Struik | Assistant Professor | School of Nursing | laura.struik@ubc.ca | 2508079972 | ART 140

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Nicotine dependence; youth and young adults; health promotion and gender-sensitive approaches; behavior change using digital technologies
Courses & Teaching: NRSG 500: Nursing Knowledge NRSG 597: Capstone Practicum Course
Charlene Strumpel | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | charlene.strumpel@ubc.ca | 250.807.8173 | ART 167
Courses & Teaching: I primarily teach in the acute care portion of the second year of the BSN program, in which students are introduced to the fundamentals of caring for clients in a medical or surgical setting. I generally teach: NRSG 226 Health and Healing II NRSG 227 Health and Healing III These two theory courses focus on evidence-informed assessment and management of health challenges. I also teach some sections of: NRSG 236 Nursing Practice II NRSG 237 Nursing Practice III These practice courses utilize an Intentional Learning framework to support students to integrate knowledge, skills, and abilities in the clinical practice setting.
Marie Tarrant | Professor | School of Nursing | marie.tarrant@ubc.ca | 250-807-9297

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. Tarrant’s program of research focuses on improving maternal and child health outcomes and has resulted in an extensive publication record on a range of subjects, including breastfeeding and maternal and childhood vaccinations. A strong focus on health promotion and disease prevention in the context of women and children’s health underpins all of Dr. Tarrant’s work. Her research has not only helped to improve health outcomes but has also impacted health service delivery for new mothers.
Bonny Taylor | Associate Professor of Teaching | Faculty of Health and Social Development, School of Nursing | Bonny.Taylor@ubc.ca | 250.807.9973 | ART 343
Research Interests: Geriatric nursing Emergency nursing Experience of emergency nursing caring for geriatric patients Theory-practice gap in nursing education
Courses & Teaching: Health and Healing in 3rd and 4th year Nursing 336- clinical practice in a medical setting Nursing 337- clinical practice in a srugical setting
Deanne Taylor | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | deanne.taylor@interiorhealth.ca
Jeanette Vinek | Associate Professor of Teaching | School of Nursing | jeanette.vinek@ubc.ca
Janis Wegerhoff | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | janis.wegerhoff@ubc.ca
Vanessa Wiebe | Clinical Assistant | School of Nursing | vanessa.wiebe@ubc.ca
Melanie Willson | Lecturer | School of Nursing | melanie.willson@ubc.ca | 250-807-8468 | ART132
Research Interests: Active learning; perinatal and childbearing families health; lactation; clinical education; remediation in clinical practice; preceptorship.
Courses & Teaching: Teaching in 2020-21: NRSG 328: Health of the Childbearing Family NRSG 338: Nursing practice with Childbearing Families (Kelowna General) NRSG 422: Leadership
Ryan Wilson | Postdoctoral Research Fellow | School of Nursing | ryan.wilson@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Dr. Wilson's research is focused on two areas of Self-Care in Atrial Fibrillation: 1) Before diagnosis-To build capacity among adults to perceive, evaluate and respond to their symptoms leading to early treatment-seeking and care; 2) Post Diagnosis-To enhancing patients' self-care and management of their AF and its related symptoms following an AF diagnosis. Cardiovascular diseases; Health Promotion; Patient‐Oriented Research; AF Self-Care and Education; Primary Care, Diagnosis Medical; Aging
Courses & Teaching: Nursing 326: Health and Healing III- Evidence-informed assessment and management of complex health challenges in both episodic and chronic illness utilizing a case study approach. Nursing 421: Complex Health Challenges / Capstone Course- This course is designed to prepare fourth year nursing students for the NCLEX examination and transition into the new graduate nursing role.
Janelle Zerr | Adjunct Professor | School of Nursing | janelle.zerr@ubc.ca